一個新的治療方法!?

直到去年年底, 這個想法的一個治愈色盲是一種理論上的夢,涉及基因療法, 這是似乎超出了我們的醫療能力. 但是,這種情況可能會改變一切在不久的將來經過研究的共同撰寫的傑伊內茨在華盛頓大學的成功作出了注射細胞分為兩個松鼠猴是完全成功!
猴子, 名為道爾頓和薩姆, 既缺乏已知為 L視蛋白基因,它提供的信息對 L -錐在虹膜 (長波長, 紅色敏感). 這是相同的事業紅綠色色盲的人類.

顏色如何防治失明工程

如你所知, 紅,綠色盲 是目前最常見的類型,幾乎都是通過傳遞遺傳缺陷的X染色體. 這意味著,視網膜缺損具有較少或沒有至少一種類型的錐。身體健康的所有色彩視覺 三錐 必須存在足夠數量, 視力或某些部分的顏色光譜丟失.

One of the monkeys hoping for some juice

其中一個猴子希望對一些果汁

該注射治療的管理工作由一個病毒攜帶遺傳信息的改變供應的視蛋白基因傅根清直接向視網膜. 超過一期 24 週, 光敏感的視錐中的猴子眼睛轉向了紅色譜, 一個地區,他們可能以前沒有區分清楚。收到的成年猴子注射多 2 幾年前還沒有來表現出任何副作用.

總結起來,簡單來說從原來的在線雜誌出版 性質:

 

“我們添加了紅錐細胞的敏感性,動物出生時的條件,這正是像人的色盲,” 說和William W. 豪斯維特, 博士, 眼科教授 在佛羅里達大學醫學院和聯陣成員遺傳學研究所和鮑威爾基因治療中心. “雖然色盲只有適度的生命改變, 我們已經證明我們可以治愈的疾病在靈長類錐, 而且它可以做到非常安全. 這是非常令人鼓舞的發展治療人類疾病,錐真的是致盲。”

 

我們怎麼知道猴子是可以治愈的

合作作者傑伊內茨和他的妻子, Mauree開始訓練了2松鼠猴, 道爾頓和薩姆以上 10 年前. 到時候在注射, 茨已完善了適應的劍橋顏色測試,讓猴子可以告訴他,他們看到的顏色. 賞葡萄果汁是在訓練主食!

近 5 個月無明顯變化的猴子, 但突然,他們能夠正確識別測試的紅色和綠色在屏幕上. 內茨是不知道什麼改變, 但認為,與其物理改變到大腦中的神經通路, 它最終成為能夠理解它接收新的信息.

應用前景該技術可能超越色盲所說的內茨:

“…幾乎每一個未解決的視覺缺陷出在這一部分有這種或那種方式, 這裡的能力,轉化成光信號的基因參與。”

 

我什麼時候可以治愈失明的顏色?

有了這樣令人興奮的結果在靈長類動物, 該研究小組正在推動對人類的審判盡可能快, 但考慮到涉及的許多步驟之前注射將準備對人類. 這是一個非常有希望的跡象,表明猴子沒有表現出任何檢測的副作用超過 2 年, 並用該病毒的遺傳信息傳遞, 腺相關病毒並沒有記錄在人類造成疾病。但安全必須得到最終證明人體試驗開始前.

沒有時間框架已發出, 但毫無疑問,我們可以預期的快速發展對技術 – 特別是考慮到其潛在的深遠的應用在治療其他形式的更衰弱失明的眼睛。當然許多研究人員參與了視覺研究都表示高度興趣。科幻possiblities甚至可能成為現實,推測由威廉斯:

“最終,我們也許能夠做各種有趣的操作的視網膜,” 他說:. “不僅可能使我們能夠治愈的疾病, 但我們不妨以非凡的能力,工程師的眼睛. 你可以想像賦予增強夜視眼正常, 或工程基因,使光與顏料的光譜特性為任何你想要你的眼睛看到的。”
參考資料:

www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/news/science/medicine/article6837392.ece
www.physorg.com/news172325926.html
www.wired.com/wiredscience/2009/09/colortherapy/

A New Cure!?

Until late last year, the idea of a cure for color blindness was a theoretical dream involving gene therapy, which was seemingly beyond our medical abilities. However that may all be changing in the very near future after a study co-authored by Jay Neitz at the University of Washington successfully made an injection of cells into two squirrel monkeys which was a total success!
The monkeys, named Dalton and Sam, both lacked a gene known as L opsin that provides the information for L-Cones in the iris (long wavelength, red sensitive). This is the same cause for red-green color blindness in Humans.

How The Color Blindness Cure Works

As you know, red green color blindness is by far the most common type and is nearly always passed on through defective genetics on the X Chromosome. This defect means that the retina has fewer or none of at least one type of Cone. For healthy color vision all three cones must be present in adequate numbers, or acuity to certain parts of the color spectrum is lost.

One of the monkeys hoping for some juice

One of the monkeys hoping for some juice

The cure is administered by injecting a virus carrying altered genetic information that supplies the missing L opsin gene directly to the retina. Over a period of 24 weeks, the light sensitivity of the cones in the monkeys eyes shifted toward the red spectrum, an area they could not previously differentiate clearly. The adult monkeys received the injection more than 2 years ago and have not yet come to exhibit any side effects.

Summed up in layman’s terms from the original publication online for the journal Nature:

 

“We’ve added red sensitivity to cone cells in animals that are born with a condition that is exactly like human color blindness,” said William W. Hauswirth, Ph.D., a professor of ophthalmic at the UF College of Medicine and a member of the UF Genetics Institute and the Powell Gene Therapy Center. “Although color blindness is only moderately life-altering, we’ve shown we can cure a cone disease in a primate, and that it can be done very safely. That’s extremely encouraging for the development of therapies for human cone diseases that really are blinding.”

 

How We Know The Monkeys Are Cured

Co Author Jay Neitz and his Wife, Mauree began training the two squirrel monkeys, Dalton and Sam over 10 years ago. By the time of the injection, Neitz had perfected an adaptation of the Cambridge Colour Test so that the monkeys could tell him which colors they were seeing. Rewards of grape juice were staple during the training!

For nearly 5 months the monkeys showed no change, but then suddenly they were able to correctly identify tests for red and green on the screen. Neitz is not sure what changed, but believes that rather than physical alteration to the neural pathways in the brain, it eventually became able to understand the new information it was receiving.

The prospects for application of this technique may well extend beyond color blindness as mentioned by Neitz:

“…almost every unsolved vision defect out there has this component in one way or another, where the ability to translate light into a gene signal is involved.”

 

When Can I Get The Color Blindness Cure?

With such exciting results in primates, the research team are pushing toward human trials as fast as possible, but are mindful of the numerous steps involves before the injection will be ready for humans. It is a very promising sign that the monkeys have not exhibited any detectable side-effects in over 2 years, and the virus used to transmit the genetic information, the adeno-associated virus has no record of causing disease in humans. But safety must be conclusively proven before human trials commence.

No time frame has been given, but we can no doubt expect rapid development on the technique – especially given its potentially far reaching applications in curing other forms of more debilitating blindness in the eye. Naturally many researchers involved in vision research have expressed high interest. Sci-fi possiblities may even become reality as speculated by Williams:

“Ultimately we might be able to do all kinds of interesting manipulations of the retina,” he said. “Not only might we be able to cure disease, but we might engineer eyes with remarkable capabilities. You can imagine conferring enhanced night vision in normal eyes, or engineering genes that make photo-pigments with spectral properties for whatever you want your eye to see.”
References:

www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/news/science/medicine/article6837392.ece
www.physorg.com/news172325926.html
www.wired.com/wiredscience/2009/09/colortherapy/